5 things that happened for the first time in IPL 2021

Chennai Super Kings defeated Kolkata Knight Riders to win the IPL 2021 and become champions for the fourth time. When the competition began, nobody predicted a CSK vs. KKR final. The teams in the playoffs were Delhi Capitals (DC), Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). The Mumbai Indians (MI), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Punjab Kings (PBKS), and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) were the four teams eliminated from the IPL 2021 after the first 56 games.

In IPL 2021, however, several unexpected events occurred. Some of these occurrences were unprecedented in the tournament’s history. Here are 5 things that happened for the first time in IPL 2021 –

1. Sunrisers Hyderabad finish last for the first time in IPL

From 2013 forward, the Sunrisers Hyderabad replaced the Deccan Chargers in the IPL. They won their first championship in 2016 and have made the playoffs every season since. The Orange Army, on the other hand, did not advance to the following round this year. For the first time in their IPL existence, the Hyderabad-based team finished bottom in the points system.

2. IPL stops midway

The Indian Premier League began in 2008, and till 2021, no IPL competition has been suspended in the middle of its run. In IPL 2021, however, the BCCI was forced to call the event off after 29 matches because of a COVID-19 outbreak in the bio-bubbles.

3. A Royal Challengers Bangalore player won the Purple Cap for the first time in IPL 2021

Harshal Patel made history by being the first bowler to win the IPL Orange Cap award while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in an IPL season. The Bangalore-based franchise’s right-arm bowler achieved the mark after taking 32 wickets in 15 matches.

4. A retired Indian cricketer won the IPL trophy as captain

MS Dhoni became the first Indian cricketer to win the IPL title after retiring from the game. Apart from Dhoni, the only other Indian captains to win the IPL are Rohit Sharma and Gautam Gambhir. Gambhir won two titles before quitting from international cricket, whereas Rohit is still playing.

5. A player hits century on IPL captaincy debut

The Rajasthan Royals were unable to qualify for the IPL playoffs in 2021. Sanju Samson, the team’s new captain, established an astonishing record in his first season as captain. On his leadership debut, the wicketkeeper-batsman hammered a century against the Punjab Kings in Mumbai. Samson was the first batsman to reach the milestone. Regrettably, his efforts were futile, since RR was defeated by a razor-thin margin.

Read More: 5 most expensive RCB players of all time