5 Things Which Will Happen for the First Time in IPL 2022

On February 25, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced key decisions made at the IPL Governing Council meeting regarding IPL 2022.

With the addition of two new members to the existing family of eight – Lucknow Supergiant and Gujarat Titans – the IPL has reverted to the 2011 model when the league welcomed two new teams – Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala (both defunct).

Much like in 2011, the 2022 system has left many people perplexed, as it was confirmed on February 25 that the ten teams would be divided into two groups of five, with the league lasting 70 games and four playoffs. Here are 5 things which will happen for the first time in IPL 2022 –

1. Uttar Pradesh Team

The IPL has never featured a team from Uttar Pradesh before. Lucknow Super Giants will participate in the IPL for the first time in IPL history.

2. Shreyas Iyer will play for KKR

This has now become an official event. Shreyas Iyer, who led the Delhi Capitals to their first IPL Final in 2020, has left the team. All of Iyer’s previous seasons were spent with DC. He was one of DC’s most well-known players, but the team has kept four other players while releasing Iyer for the first time. Iyer has joined KKR ahead of the 2022 season.

3. Reduction in salaries of Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni

In 2022, for the first time since their IPL debuts, Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni’s salaries will be reduced. Kohli’s salary was 17 crore in 2021, but it has since been reduced to 15 crore. Dhoni’s salary for 2022 is set at 12 crore.

4. Hardik Pandya will play for Gujarat Titans 

Hardik Pandya, like Shreyas Iyer, has lost his IPL contract for the first time. Hardik was always retained by Mumba Indians, but not this time. The quartet of Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, and Suryakumar Yadav has been chosen. Pandya will play for Gujarat Titans in IPL 2022.

5. No Suresh Raina

The Chennai Super Kings released Suresh Raina, which is a first for the franchise. Later at the mega auction, Raina went unsold and for the first time, there will be no Suresh Raina in the IPL.

Read More: 5 Reasons Why Virat Kohli Shouldn’t Have Quit Indian Captaincy